Lights in the 4th of July Night

My first photos of the Milky Way

I mentioned in my previous post that I finally had a great opportunity to capture the Milky Way and a few other fun nighttime photos on our recent trip to northern New Mexico, and I wanted to share a few of them today.  I took these photos after we watched the awesome fireworks show in Raton earlier that evening on the 4th of July.

I hope you will view this post on my actual site and not in the WordPress reader today, as these photos will show up much better there.

While Hubby and I have witnessed the amazing dark sky stars many times on our RV camping excursions over the past five years, I’ve really never had a good opportunity to photograph them for various reasons.  On this trip, however, I finally had that opportunity, even though I didn’t have my tripod.  I simply improvised by setting my camera on picnic table at a nearby campsite that was not being used, and I propped the end of my lens on a little box, using my cable release to hold the shutter open for about 30 seconds on most of the photos.

IMG_3082smfs
Beautiful Milky Way
IMG_3087smfs
Milky Way and a great shooting star
IMG_3089smfs
Milky Way with a little ground perspective and a small shooting star at bottom left
IMG_3094smfs
Big Dipper above our friends’ RV (He was walking around the RV with his flashlight.)
IMG_3095smfs
Big Dipper in the west (outlined in Photoshop) and a little shooting star at upper right

Three of the young adults with us were outside with me as I was taking the photos, so we decided to have a little fun doing some light painting.  It was the first time that any of us had attempted this, and we had a lot of fun.

Here is one of the better light paintings of the night, just as it came out of my camera.  So fun!

IMG_3105smfs

Finally, I ended my photography exercise that evening by capturing a nice photo of our RV under the beautiful starry sky.  It is a photo that I will treasure always, and I hope it helps to visibly show just one reason why we dearly love RV camping in the remote areas that we tend to frequent.

 

IMG_3106smfs

This brief exposure to night photography only makes me want to go out and try it even more.  The young adults with me had a great time, and I wish more young people would take up photography as a hobby.  It seems like such a great fit for many that I know personally, and I know that those three will always remember our fun time together, just as I will.

Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

2 thoughts on “Lights in the 4th of July Night”

    1. Thanks so much! Keep trying. It was really, really dark out where we were, so I shot with my wide angle lens all the way open, ISO 3200 or 6400, about 30 seconds each exposure. Shooting at a lower ISO meant holding the shutter open longer and got some movement in the stars that I didn’t want. It’s so much fun! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

