Random Thoughts

Second day of summer random thoughts

2016-06-18-11.00.25sm

Today’s post is a little exercise in just writing some “random thoughts” that come to mind, so let’s see what comes to the forefront, shall we?

Summer is officially here as of yesterday, but summer actually showed up in a big way here last week with some pretty brutal temperatures and heat indexes with higher humidity levels.  While others downstate often suffer from high humidity this time of year, it is not such a common occurrence where we live.  Let me just say how glad I am for that fact, too!  Whew, it is pretty much torture to combine heat and humidity, and for us, that is pretty much anything higher than 30%!

 

2016-06-18-11.00.25sm
The dog days of summer are definitely upon us!

 

We had a nice Father’s Day, and I hope you all did, too.  Son joined us for a nice lunch out, which was actually a combined celebration for us for Father’s Day and our 37th anniversary last week.  We splurged and went to a restaurant that we only visit for special occasions, and it was such a treat!  I tried Tres Leches cake for the first time because our meal came with a free dessert for Father’s Day, and I am now on a serious hunt for a similar recipe.  No, it’s not on my diet at all, but it was so, so good!  I know it had plenty of calories, but I didn’t feel stuffed after I ate it.

I’m feeling a little melancholy right now.  A dear friend informed me that she is going to be moving out-of-state, and I’m sad to hear this.  She is really my best friend at this stage of life, and I’m going to miss her terribly.  It won’t happen for awhile, as she has many things to take care of, including moving her mother and selling their home here.  On the upside, they are moving to a beautiful area in Utah, and it will be a nice place to visit as we are able to do so.

I’m also melancholy about the general state of things in our country and in our world right now.  There is so much hate… so much hate.  I honestly can’t believe some of the things I’m hearing people say these days.  Social media can be such a good tool to stay in touch with people and share some “light,” but these days, I think it is more a tool for the hatemongers.  Twitter is just a cesspool of hate and vile, and I’ve pretty much given up on it completely, except to follow a few accounts individually that are inspirational to me.

Speaking of inspiration, I’ve been studying the book of Daniel for a few weeks, following along via Max Lucado’s teachings via the Oak Hills Church video podcast on iTunes.  It has been great so far, and I’m looking forward to finishing it up soon as it nears its conclusion.  I highly recommend it to anyone desiring a little supplemental study this summer, and it is quite timely as well.

Some fellow RV friends have shared that by this time next year, they may be on the road full-time in their RV.  They are ten years younger than we are, and they are ready to see if they can make it happen.  This took us by surprise, for sure, as their youngest child will leaving the “nest” by this time next year.  They don’t have a firm plan yet on how to do it financially, but it has got us to discussing this option again ourselves.  We still think that we will need to do it in retirement, if we do it at all, so that it won’t stress us financially.  But, it will be quite interesting to see if they go for it or not next year.  I’ve learned so much, and continue to learn, from some of you full-time RVers that I follow here, and based on the large number of people doing it now, I really don’t consider it to be an alternative living option anymore.

Speaking of full-timers, I started following “Driving Miss Norma” on Facebook, and what a joy and inspiration that has been for me.  If you’re on Facebook, be sure to check it out.  Miss Norma is my hero, as well as her family and their standard poodle that travels with them.  Just search for “Driving Miss Norma,” and be sure to read her story.  It has brought tears to my eyes more than once as I’ve been following their journey.

We are looking forward to hitting the road in our RV late next week… finally!  We are meeting three other couples, and it should be a really fun time.  Our Houston-area friends are actually renting an RV for the first time, so this should be “very interesting!”  Hopefully the heat won’t be too terrible.

2016-06-04-12.15.55-1fivefs
Even though you can’t see it in this photo, there is a big air horn on top of the RV on the passenger’s side, and my goodness, it is loud! 😀

 

Hubby’s best Father’s Day gift was finally fixing the big air horn on our new-to-us RV, and wow, that thing is loud!  It only needed a new ground wire.  I’m not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing!  Ha.

As we are ready to resume RV travels, I’ve been trying to map out our remaining vacation days through the end of February.  We’re considering a possible trip to Big Bend at some point, visiting both the national and state parks there, as well as visiting another new-to-us state park, which is also a goal of ours each year.  I invite any helpful suggestions from anyone as far as making this trip in our RV, too.

Planning vacation days just seems to get more difficult every year, due to Hubby’s work travel requirements, but we will get them in somehow.  At least RV travel allows us a little more flexibility when needed.  It is a real blessing to have four weeks of paid vacation each year, but it is a challenge to actually take all those days, too.

Well, that’s pretty much it for today’s random thoughts.  Thanks for stopping by and reading along!

 

Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

6 thoughts on “Random Thoughts”

  1. You did just fine with your ‘random thoughts’! That’s all I ever do – I’m sure people can tell that because I do tend to wander around mercilessly, but seeing as I’m writing for my own sanity first I’m just glad that ANYONE (other than me) wants to read what I write.

    AH, the days of ‘special restaurants’! We had ours back in the days before full timing, and mostly when our daughter was still at home. For some reason about the time she moved out and got married our attitude about restos kind of changed and we started going to places that were a little cheaper than the ‘occasion’ places but where the food was excellent. I think that happened around the time that chefs decided food had to look architectural instead of tasting good.

    Daniel was never a favorite of mine. You know who some voices just speak more directly to one’s heart — Daniel was always a book that spoke another language …

    Talk about making plans — I know the autumn is coming but I just can’t get excited about planning our travels post this current gig. I should get on the stick and do something but I’m stuck….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We surely enjoyed our special Father’s Day lunch. For $160 for three of us, we should have, but we definitely had all we could eat. We just do not splurge like that very often, maybe once a year and usually when we are celebrating multiple occasions like we did on Sunday.

      Until this particular study, I would agree with you on Daniel. Maybe that’s why I’m so interested in this one. Max is doing a fabulous job “unpacking” many of the aspects I never really “got” before. Of course, he also admits that it is largely interpretation and may be wrong, but his interpretation is very interesting and founded in facts from elsewhere in the Bible. I like that he is honest that way, too. I think I’ve taken more detailed notes in this study than any study I’ve done since Beth Moore’s The Patriarchs, and it is proving to be very timely in its message for today.

      I’ve been battling a writing and photography “block” lately, so I thought I would just sit down, write and post, come what may. Like you, I’m always grateful when anyone cares to read my randomness here and leave a comment.

      Hope you guys are able to get your own plans in place after you’re done where you are. We are finding it’s getting harder and harder to secure reservations, especially on the weekends, so we’re really trying to firm up some plans, at least through early fall.

      Like

    1. You know, my heart really hurts for some of the people I’ve seen on Twitter, even though it sometimes makes me downright mad, too. But, there are lots and lots of people with no hope today, unfortunately, so they are reaching out and lashing out in ways I’ve just never even dreamed of. They think they’ve found answers, but they are far from the truth. By no coincidence, though, the study of Daniel I’m doing right now reminds me who and what we are really fighting in this world… and it’s not each other. I will do well to always remember that… remember who the real enemy is. I just need to be a beacon in a very dark world most of all to as many people as humanly possible. Thanks for your comments, friend. You are always a bright beacon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

