My New Ring

My first time to have a custom ring designed and made for me – truly a “one of a kind” mother’s ring!

In my long, overdue update yesterday, I failed to share one more notable thing that I want to have “on the record” here.  One of the last duties I had to take care of as the executor of my mother’s estate was the final distribution of her jewelry that had not been distributed while she was still alive.  On the advice of the lawyer, I held off making this final distribution until everything else was settled, and that was good advice.

I split the remaining jewelry with my sister, with the approval of my sister-in-law.  This was the right thing to do, since there really was not much jewelry to split anyway, and I had everything appraised early on so that I could start thinking about the best way to split it between us.  After closing the rent house purchase in May, I then took all of the jewelry to a good jeweler here and had him check everything out to see if anything needed to be repaired before distributing it, as I planned to give my sister our mother’s wedding ring with the one larger diamond.  Fortunately, all of the prongs were in good shape, and I then gave my sister her share of mom’s jewelry in early June about the time that mom would have celebrated her 94th birthday.

With the bulk of the estate matters now done, I took my mother’s diamond ring guard and my own 20th anniversary ring back to the jeweler to see if he could design a custom ring for me.  I never had a mother’s ring, and even though I’m really not a big jewelry gal, this was a ring that I always wanted.  I cannot say enough nice things about this jeweler and the entire process of designing a custom ring, too.

While it was still a little hard to even take the step to do the ring, the jeweler and his associate both worked with me over two separate visits to come up with a ring design that I absolutely adore.

IMG_1392
My new mother’s ring – click to see it larger (please)

If this is not a real mother’s ring, I don’t know what is.  One row of diamonds is from my mother’s wedding ring guard, which actually belong to my father’s mother, and the other row of diamonds is from my own 20th anniversary ring and had several diamonds that needed to be repronged anyway.  The ruby is my daughter’s birthstone, and the garnet is my son’s birthstone.  While I think this is actually a pretty good photo of the ring, taken with my new 50mm prime lens, I think it is even prettier in person.  I also had four little diamonds left over, too.  If I lose any diamonds from the ring at some point, I will have some genuine replacements ready to go.

I picked the ring up a few days ago, and I bawled like a baby when they showed it to me.  It bordered on being one of those “ugly” cries, but fortunately, I was the only customer in the store at the time.  Once again, they were just so nice and understanding about the whole process, and it is a true pleasure to do business with great folks such as these.  This will not be a ring that I will wear every day, for sure, but I will certainly love wearing it when I decide to do so.

The jeweler also gave a me a free appraisal of the ring for insurance purposes.  I traded-in the gold from the two existing rings and purchased the birthstones new.  The gold trade-in also helped to defray the cost of the ring just a bit.  I asked him about using the existing gold in the new ring, but he said that he much preferred to use new gold instead.  I’m glad that he talked me into that, as I just truly love the look of this ring, and even the design of it is special to me, as if my mother and I “have our arms” around both of the kids.

So, there you have it – my special ring at long last.  I just wish my mother could see it, too.

D All Original Content
© fivefs.wordpress.com
All Rights Reserved

Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

8 thoughts on “My New Ring”

  1. Oh my goodness, D, that is so very beautiful and special and…I just love it and all it represents for you. No wonder you cried! Although I don’t own any, I love custom jewelry because it’s so unique. My son designed daughter-in-law’s engagement ring and had it custom made and it too is so beautiful. One of my daughters has a custom made wedding band made from diamonds from her mother-in-law and a melted down setting from my first engagement ring (we had my diamond reset in a different setting years ago). So special.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I totally agree! This was such an interesting process to go through, and I’m sure it will likely be the last time, too, as it was still a little pricey but totally worth it for this one. Like I said, I’m not a big jewelry person, to be honest. I like jewelry that actually means something to me, including the James Avery ring I bought a few weeks ago. Think I shared that on Facebook? Just love that one, too, and between these two rings, I’m all good, in addition to my wedding/anniversary ring. Overall, the cost was very good vs. buying a similar ring new and not using the existing diamonds, so it was worth it even in that aspect. Thanks again for the sweet comments! I hope you are doing well, my friend. I think of you and pray often for you. I know this is a hard time. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

