Traveling to Maui

A great stopover at SFO, followed by a great flight with amazing window views at sunset over the Pacific Ocean

 Our journey to Maui took us on a slightly different flight path this time, as we intentionally opted to travel through San Francisco International Airport instead of Los Angeles International Airport.  The more I fly through SFO, the more I like it and appreciate what it has to offer.  It is such a great airport with awesome traveler comforts, like comfortable seating areas, great shops and restaurants and many electrical outlets to recharge a phone or laptop and easy gate connections, at least for what we’ve needed in the past.  If possible, we will likely connect through SFO on any future trips when possible, too.

Let me add how very difficult it is to stay on a low-carb eating plan while in San Francisco, the home of Boudin, even when at the airport there.  I love how so many airports these days really reflect the food culture of their area in a quality way, and SFO is a great example.  I took a one-week break during this special trip and made a vow to walk as much as I could while we were gone to help mitigate the effects of that decision, with good results.

Lunch at SFO
A great lunch at San Francisco International Airport

We did not see our bay area kids on this trip, which was the only sad part of the trip for me.  It was all the worse when our plane flew right over the area where they live, too.  I was just there a month earlier, though, so I really should not complain.

For me, the highlight of the flight to Maui was the most amazing golden hour over the Pacific Ocean.  I’m not sure I’ve ever seen such a magnificent display of transitional color from an airplane window, or anywhere else for that matter.  I literally watched the sky and ocean go from their normal hues to varying golden shades over the course of about thirty minutes, snapping pictures with my trusty camera phone.  Yes, I am that annoying person that routinely takes pictures from my window on the airplane, even though in this case, I doubt my photos can even begin to accurately convey what I saw.  Watching the Belt of Venus appear and then disappear was just fabulous.

Flying Into Golden Hour 1

Flying Into Golden Hour 2

20150509_214936

Flying Into Golden Hour 4

20150509_215329

20150509_215445

20150509_215653

20150509_215810

20150509_220100

I had no clue at the time that this was going to just be the first of many amazing times at sunset for us during our week in Maui.  We made a point to be in some great viewing spots each evening around sunset as much as possible, and what a memorable time we enjoyed every single evening.  Our sunset memories will definitely be one of my special memories from this trip, and I’m looking forward to sharing those experiences here soon!

DAll Original Content
© fivefs.wordpress.com
All Rights Reserved

Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

3 thoughts on “Traveling to Maui”

  1. I’ve always thought it odd that Boudin should be a bakery and not a charcuterie/sausage shop — with a name like that it’s really confusing even if it IS a family name. Maybe someone’s grand-kid decided he was going to be a vegetarian and had to find a new job. 🙂

    Funny, I don’t fly much but when I did I never had window seats that were clean enough to try taking decent pictures from.

    Now that we’re about to leave OR, I’m looking forward to maybe seeing some sunsets/rises on the route across the wide horizons. The Valley Eugene is in gives about 100 miles of E – W exposure and then it’s hills on both sides. I’m longing for the plains — which longing I’m sure won’t last long once I get there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I admit that I am a sunrise/sunset junkie! I guess it comes from growing up on the plains and seeing such fabulous sights regularly. Years ago, when I worked for a pretty large company here, a new boss was transferred here from the eastern US. He and his wife quickly became hooked on the sunrises and sunsets. When he was ultimately transferred away from here, we stayed in touch via FB, and he still talked about the sunsets here and how he misses them. Hope you get to see some good ones soon.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sunrise/set has to be one of the most consistently beautiful reminders of God, of our own insignificance, and of the constancy of natural law (compared to the inconstancy of anything that man does). Lately I’ve been negligent about getting UP to see the sunrises. It seems bizarre that after a lifetime of early rising that I still awaken before the sun comes up but that I am actually able on some days to fall back asleep which was never my younger habit.
        I’m looking forward to the sun at Bosque this winter. Between now and then we’ll be in a few campgrounds with good sun access, and a couple without. such is life. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

