Marvelous Maui

A pictorial overview of our wonderful week in Maui

What a wonderful time we had on our week-long trip to Maui back in mid-May!  It was a much-needed getaway for both of us, and Hawaii did not disappoint once again.  Even though Kauai has been our go-to destination in the islands in more recent years, we thoroughly enjoyed returning to Maui after a twenty-year absence.  We had no digital photos of Maui, so it was also a great opportunity to put my camera to work once again after putting it away for too long.

IMG_6966

I have so many photos and stories from the trip, and for that reason, I will share our Hawaiian escapades in a series of posts as time permits.  This was also the last time that I used my Canon Rebel XTi, so this project will also be a little tribute to the wonderful years I spent with my first good camera.  I learned a lot about photography with that trusty camera, often the hard way, and I hope to continue learning even more with my new camera and lenses.  We even took some pretty decent photos with our phone cameras when I didn’t have the good camera with me.  My goodness, how phone cameras have improved in recent years.  They still don’t do the great job that my good camera does, but it’s so nice to always have a camera with us.

Below are some of the places we saw and things we did during our week in Maui, along with some teaser photos.  Items denoted with * were new experiences for us, while others were repeats of favorite places and things to do.  Most of these topics will probably make an appearance in a later post, as most are fun, interesting, touching or beautiful in their own way.

Haleakala National Park and Crater*
(aka Driving from Sea Level  to 10,000 Feet in an Hour)
20150512_182043a

The Epic Road to Hana – Indescribable Beauty*
IMG_6871

Hiking at Wai’anapanana State Park near Hana*
IMG_6859
Beautiful Kapalua Resort*
IMG_7043
Our Nice Condo*
IMG_6952
Hiking the Kapalua Coastal Trail*
(Not your typical hiking trail)
20150511_113826
World Famous Beaches of Kapalua*
IMG_7014
Quintessential Hawaii – Old Lahaina Town at Sunset 20150511_185324
The Historic Banyan Tree in Old Lahaina Town
20150511_182224
The Terrifying Forbidden Drive*
20150510_155310
My Spa Day – Relaxing and Refreshing*
20150512_141055
Epic Hawaiian Sunsets*
20150512_185355
Our Journey to Maui*
20150509_215445
Mother’s Day Sunset Dinner
20150510_185104
The Best Restaurant in the World, Seriously
(Happy Birthday to Me!)
IMG_20150515_162313_379
Plantation Dining* 20150513_184515
 Our Hawaiian Pizza Tradition* 20150511_173900
Breakfast with the Birds
IMG_6704
Flowers of Maui
IMG_6949

A Bittersweet Mother’s Day*
20150510_055758
An Unexpected Gift*
IMG_6923
Memories of Days Gone By in Maui
IMG_7072

We had no set plans for our time in Maui, with the exception of two necessary dinner reservations on Mother’s Day and our departure day for my birthday dinner, but despite our lack of planning, our week ended up being a great combination of leisurely mornings at the condo, followed by activities that we felt like doing each day.  In hindsight, our daily activities ended up being a great itinerary for anyone that would like to visit Maui, as we ended up doing and seeing more than either of us originally thought we would and never got tired doing it.  There is only one thing we did that I would not recommend at all.  You can likely guess what it was by the items I listed above.  Let’s just say that I will never solely rely on Garmin when driving in Hawaii in the future.

Stay tuned for all the fun in Marvelous Maui!

DAll Original Content
© fivefs.wordpress.com
All Rights Reserved

Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

8 thoughts on “Marvelous Maui”

  1. I’ve always enjoyed visits to Maui and recognized quite a view sights in your post. Sounds like you had a fantastic time and a much needed get away. I’m sure you’re enjoying that new camera 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely photos! And great to hear you had a fantastic trip!

    It’s been about the same length of time since I’ve been to Hawaii. I had a day stopover on my way to Australia in the early 90’s and only set foot on Oahu — which wasn’t all that spectacular to me. I know so many folks who have been and I just can’t get my energy up to get excited about it. At least not while we still have exciting things to see here. I’d probably go to Europe before Hawaii in my present state of mind.

    Looks like the new camera is doing it’s job. Keep after it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We love Hawaii, as it is always a nice, mostly relaxing time for us. Highly recommend it, except for Honolulu. Been there, done that years ago. Don’t care if we go back there.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a truly great getaway for us at just the right time. Hope to share some neat things here about Maui soon that everyone will enjoy, while preserving my own memories, too.

      Like

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

