Contribute A Verse

I am sad to hear of the passing of Robin Williams yesterday.  It is certainly a tragedy, and I will pray for his family left behind today.  Truly, we all were blessed by his talent onscreen for so many years.  While I loved his comedy roles so much, I may have actually enjoyed his serious moments on the big screen even more.

This scene in the movie, Dead Poet’s Society, is one of my favorite movie scenes.  The timeless words of Walt Whitman are just as timely today as they were when he wrote them over one hundred years ago.

Perhaps we just don’t read enough poetry today.  I’m off to find my copy of Leaves of Grass now.

O Me! O Life!

By Walt Whitman

Oh me! Oh life! of the questions of these recurring,
Of the endless trains of the faithless, of cities fill’d with the foolish,
Of myself forever reproaching myself, (for who more foolish than I, and who more faithless?)
Of eyes that vainly crave the light, of the objects mean, of the struggle ever renew’d,
Of the poor results of all, of the plodding and sordid crowds I see around me,
Of the empty and useless years of the rest, with the rest me intertwined,
The question, O me! so sad, recurring—What good amid these, O me, O life?
                                       Answer.
That you are here—that life exists and identity,
That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse.
Source: Leaves of Grass (1892)
_____________________

Post-publication addition:

Although I have mixed feelings about doing this, I would like to offer why I chose to share a quick thought on the passing of Robin Williams today, based on a comment that a stranger attempted to leave on this post today.  Perhaps I should have included this in my original post, too.

I certainly did not worship or idolize this man.  He was just a very talented actor, and he made me laugh more times than I can count.  His roles and dialogue sometimes caused me to think a bit.  His tortured life mirrored the lives of too many people close to me, especially his life-long struggle with depression and addictions.  After dealing quite directly with someone who suffered from a truly life-threatening addiction and another person who has attempted suicide twice, in addition to suffering from depression and addictions, I have a special sympathy for anyone who struggles in this way.  I’ve seen this horrible suffering up close, and I’ve felt significant negative effects in my own life, to be sure.  I remain assured of my own inability to make it go away in their respective lives, too.  I know that it was nothing short of a miracle that Robin managed to have such a successful career and life as he struggled simultaneously with this disease.  Seeking good professional help, he successfully overcame it for a very long time, too.  He even went overseas many, many times to entertain our troops, much like Bob Hope did in his time.

It truly breaks my heart when anyone with this disease loses their battle in such a heartbreaking way, and today, I wanted to just acknowledge one special moment in his career that particularly spoke to me.  Nothing more.  The thoughts of one particular commenter (who obviously knows nothing about me) that seemed to insinuate a “worship” relationship, when I simply desired to acknowledge the life (and tragic death) of a fellow human being, are beyond disappointing, if not insulting.  Grief for a fellow human being’s struggle and his loved ones now sadly left behind is a loving thing, so I will not publish such negative and judgmental comments here.  I have endured suicides of two family members, and I know how the family of Robin Williams feels right now.

So, to the person who attempted to leave such a negative comment here today, please know that I have chosen to not share your comment here for these reasons.  Hopefully you will be spared such torture in your own life and the lives of those you love.  Sometimes it is best to just keep those negative thoughts to yourself, although I know the temptation is just too much for some to pass up these days.

D All Original Content — © fivefs.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved
Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

2 thoughts on “Contribute A Verse”

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

