Reconnecting With Friends

Once again, life seems to be in just a bit of upheaval here again, but thankfully, it is nothing like we had back in the winter when my mom fell and broke her hip.  It is more a confluence of little things and slightly larger things that are taking my precious personal time that I try to guard as much as possible until circumstances demand some of it.  I am missing my quieter mornings right now, for sure, but hopefully things will return to normal soon, too.

I managed to take some time off earlier today to reconnect personally with a high school friend who is in town for a couple of weeks to see her elderly parents.  We have not seen each other in person since 1976, although we reconnected a few years ago on Facebook.  My friend and I met for a tentatively scheduled two-hour coffee visit at Starbucks, and four and a half hours later, we had to finally cut off our visit with the hope that we will be able to get together one more time before she leaves to return to North Carolina.

On my drive home, I felt especially blessed to have been able to reconnect recently with so many long-lost friends from my younger days, and I have been truly amazed at how we have all been able to pick right up where we left off.  The love and caring concern is still there in every reunion, and I realized that I have so many dear friends, even though we have been apart for decades.  I have also been amazed at how similar a path many of us have walked in our respective lives as far as life challenges, too.

Today, my friend and I discovered that we share several similar family struggles, including one that is quite unique.  This certainly helped to fuel the discussion for our extra long visit, but we also found that the friendship that we enjoyed in high school was founded on such a solid foundation that we will likely be dear friends the rest of our lives, despite the fact that we live hundreds of miles apart.

There are days that God sends such a special treat my way when I need it most, and this was one of those days, a special reunion with a dear friend that blessed me in such a wonderful way!  I am especially grateful today, and I have cried tears of joy… always a good thing.

This beautiful song has been a favorite of mine for decades, and it expresses my heart so perfectly today where my friends, both new and old, are concerned.  May it bless you richly today.

D All Original Content — © fivefs.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved
Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

7 thoughts on “Reconnecting With Friends”

  1. 1976 – the bicentennial year; I remember it well, high school indeed. I love these friendships that seem to last. Glad you were able to connect in person 🙂

    Like

    1. Wasn’t that one of the best years ever? 😀 And speaking of friends, I am still so humbled and impressed that you went over to that state park and checked it out the very next day after I asked you about it! You are a sweetheart, and I am glad to know you! I hope I can return the favor sometime!

      Like

      1. I had wanted to check out that state park for some time so you provided the nudge I needed 🙂 I’m sure when it comes to Texas, you’ll be able to offer insight!

        Like

  2. Well, it’s true that friends are friends forever when they both love the Lord. What a lovely reunion you had. I’ve been blessed with those too and it sure does our weary hearts good when we find times like those.

    Like

    1. Oh, it did my heart a world of good this week, for sure! It’s been a bit of a tough week and may continue for awhile, I’m afraid. God is so amazing to send special times like this when we sure can use it. I was blessed to even have great friends that loved the Lord in high school as well as having such great friends today! 😀

      Like

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

