An Unexpected Gift

I am so blessed to be friends with some truly wonderful people, and I’m also blessed to even know some of their elderly parents so well that I call them friends, too.  The father of one of my best friends is not in good health, and her mother cares for him full-time now.  Once a month, I try to cook a meal for them, and I’ve also kept them supplied with fresh tomatoes from our garden for the past few months, which they have absolutely loved.  Taking a meal to them is also a treat for me because I enjoy chatting with them.  They are some of the nicest people I’ve ever met and take this difficult stage in their lives with a patience that I only wish I possessed.

About two weeks ago, I took a meal to them which consisted of Pioneer Woman’s potato soup and some sweet cornbread to go with it.  I joked with them that they were test subjects for this new soup recipe from PW and that I was afraid it might not be fit to eat.  Of course, anyone that knows anything about Pioneer Woman’s recipes knows that they are all pretty much fabulous.  My friend’s mom told me that I could cook anything for them anytime, especially if it was a PW recipe, and I agreed to continue to look for more of PW’s amazing recipes online to prepare for them in the future on my monthly visit.

A few days ago, my friend’s mom stopped by to return my dishes from that dinner, and to my huge surprise, she brought this along, too…

Pioneer Woman Holidays_sm
Pioneer Woman Cooks – A Year of Holidays

… and it is for me!!!  😀

I would have purchased this cookbook at some point on my own because I’m a huge PW fan, but receiving it as a special, unexpected gift from a dear friend makes it a treasured keepsake for me, not just a cookbook.  She also gave me a card with a sweet note inside that she had written, and I just got very teary when I read it.  I love these people so much and never, ever expected something like that.  I can’t wait to make them a meal from the new cookbook now, too.  Unexpected gifts are just the best, aren’t they?

As I think about the gifts I will give to others this year for Christmas, I need to continue to try even harder to find some special gifts that will hopefully be remembered and treasured, even if it is not the primary gift that I give them.  I did a great job of doing just that a few years ago, when I compiled family recipe scrapbooks for my kids, as well as one for me.  The scrapbooks contained all of our long-time family recipes, and I made sure to include my own recipes, as well as recipes from their grandmothers and great-grandmothers.  I worked very hard on the scrapbooks for about two months, and both kids were just blown away by them, even our son.  Both kids spent a lot of time on that special Christmas Day looking through their new scrapbooks and realized that I had put a lot of work into them.  Honestly, I’m not sure I will ever top that gift, but I would like to keep trying to find ways to give more thoughtful gifts like that – the gifts that will be treasured for a long time.

D
All Original Content — © fivefs.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved
Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

2 thoughts on “An Unexpected Gift”

  1. Love Pioneer Woman’s cookbooks too and can’t wait to get this one! I also love to make gifts for Christmas…this year my daughter in law’s gift is a make-over Kitchen, painted cupboards, cleaned out cupboards with organizational stuff, etc. She and her husband (my son) are in Denver with their two year old in the hospital for tests. While they are gone these two weeks, we are doing the “make-over!” We are tired but having a blast! Just another idea for a homemade gift! Your friends sound awesome too! You are a lovely lady! 🙂

    Like

    1. Brenda, this cookbook is fabulous! What a special gift it was for me, too. I love your gift idea with the kitchen makeover, too! I hope their time at the hospital running all those tests is going ok. I have them on my prayer list and was hoping you would send an update when you know something. Bless them… such a hard thing to deal with in kids, for sure. They will no doubt be thrilled to come home to their new kitchen! They are lucky to have you on their team. 😉

      Like

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

