Merry Christmas!

This has been one of the very best Christmas preparation seasons ever for me ever.  While I am sad that my daughter and her husband will not be home for Christmas this year, that sadness has been offset in part by the joy I’ve found in baking all those Christmas cookies and taking them to unsuspecting friends and family.  After my last big batch of cookies that I baked on Thursday, I have baked almost 800 cookies!  I’ve heard from all my friends how much they enjoyed and appreciated them, and that makes me very happy.  I don’t consider myself a very creative person, but I’m learning more and more than I am a pretty good cook, and to share my cooking and baking with others just makes it so much more fun.

Focusing on my baking and not so much on the madness of gift buying made the task of buying gifts seem very harmless this year.  I definitely didn’t miss out on any deals either, as almost everything I bought (except for gift cards) was at least 40% off.  It has been nice to just go out with my husband and buy a gift or two each night after dinner, and we’ve had great fun getting out and about in the evenings after the crowds have died down a bit each day.

All of our gifts are now bought and wrapped and mailed and emailed and delivered and under the tree as of earlier today, and that is always a great feeling.  I bought our last little gift earlier this afternoon, and after I bought it, I just spent some time walking around the mall and listening to Christmas tunes playing there.  It was just a wonderful, peaceful time despite the crowds, and I’ve come to sincerely appreciate that moment each year now when I buy that very last gift.  Now, all that’s left to do is just a bit of cooking for our Christmas dinner, and that will be easy this year.

On the day after Christmas, we will be heading out of town for a week of vacation.  This is a trip we have been looking forward to for several months, as we are returning once again to one of our favorite camping destinations and are excited to have an entire week there this time, weather permitting.

I wish you a very Merry Christmas and a blessed New Year in 2013!

D
All Original Content — © fivefs.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved
Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

