Never Forget

On this anniversary of 9/11, I wanted to simply share one of the most beautiful music videos of all time, at least in my opinion.  I first saw it in 2002, and I have come back to watch it and listen to the words many times since then because the lyrics are so beautiful and sad, yet leave me full of hope at the same time.  Michael W. Smith’s music has a fabulous way of doing that at times, and this portrayal of how so many of us feel when we see our flag, especially in times of national trial or remembrance, is so accurate and moving.  Our flag is not just a piece of cloth.  It embodies who we are as a nation and the highest ideals of who we are striving to become.  This video makes me want to cry, and then it makes me want to get up and be a better person today than I was yesterday.  That is who we are as Americans, at heart, I think.

I recently heard someone say that someday, the 9/11 anniversary will simply fade into obscurity and will hardly be noticed, probably after most of us that are old enough to vividly remember the day are gone.  After all, who really thinks much of Pearl Harbor Day anymore?  I must sadly confess that I probably fall into that category.  But while I am alive, I will never, ever forget this anniversary and the thousands of my fellow citizens that died that day and afterwards.  I recently read Let’s Roll, Ordinary People – Extraordinary Courage by Lisa Beamer, the wife of Todd Beamer who was one of the men on Flight 93.  It is one of the most inspirational books I have read in quite some time, too.  (Last year, in Shanksville, Pennsylvania, the Flight 93 Memorial was dedicated in a solemn ceremony, and this article tells more about that event.)

Even though I was going through some very hard days during the Fall of 2001, it pales in comparison to what so many others were going through that were directly impacted by the attacks.  Still, the combination of events, both personal and national, caused me to pursue God in a way that I had never done before.  For the opportunity to experience God’s grace and help and love more than ever before, I humbly remain grateful because it changed me forever.

Peace to you today, hug those you love, do something kind for someone, and remember the courage and sacrifice of those that have paid the ultimate price for us.

D
All Original Content — © fivefs.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved
Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

