A New Love in My Life

Several years ago, we lost our family pet poodle that was seventeen years old.  She was a miniature poodle, and both of our kids literally grew up with her.  She was truly one of the family, as was her younger “big” (standard) brother that came along several years later.  Losing our precious family pet was harder on me than anyone else in our family, probably because that’s just how I roll.  I get very attached to both people and animals, and I cried for days and weeks off and on after she died.  We have enjoyed “big” brother and so blessed to still have in as a family pet, even though he is now thirteen years old, but ever since big sis’s passing, I’ve had a hole in my heart where she was.

Despite this gaping hole in my heart, I realized that I probably was not ready to get another dog to replace her.  I needed time to mourn her passing and really think whether or not I wanted another dog, since I am already past fifty and not getting any younger.  I also love to travel, and I thought long and hard about adding a second dog back into our lives and how it might impact the travel we would like to do while we are able to do so.  Sometimes, I think I over-think things, though, and that is definitely what I did on this decision by waiting so long to “think” this over.  I think I knew all along that I needed another four-legged love in my life in addition to “big” brother.

We picked up our new sweetie on Sunday after a few days of exhaustive searching for a standard poodle puppy in the price range we wanted to pay.  We were quite stunned to find how much some of them sell for these days, too.  Since we only wanted a loving pet, not a dog to show or breed, we kept looking beyond the expensive breeders.  I would love to have adopted a standard poodle, but there are no rescue groups within a reasonable drive of where we live.  My husband finally located a newspaper ad for some puppies in a town about two hours away, and off we went to check them out.  The only female in the litter was soon to be ours, and what a sweetie pie she is… Mon Cherie!  (My Sweetheart)

Cherie-0523
Our new standard poodle puppy at 10 weeks!

She is possibly the cutest, softest, most loveable little four-legged creature on the planet, too… but that’s just me.  She also weighed in at 11 pounds, 4 ounces on her first visit to the vet on Monday, and she is a healthy little girl all around.  Her owners opted to not have the tails of the puppies cropped at birth, too.  We will possibly revisit that when she is old enough to be spayed at six months of age, but right now, that long curly tail is just pretty darn cute.

Here’s to many puppy hugs in the days to come!

D

Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

1 thought on “A New Love in My Life”

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

