New Laptop

It’s been coming on for a while, and despite my best efforts to wish it away, my old Compaq laptop finally became a total “floptop” by coming apart at the hinges… quite literally.  It’s also noteworthy to mention that the casing actually broke before my laptop hard drive crashed this time.  I really didn’t feel like spending almost $100 to attempt a repair job on the hinges, especially if it didn’t work for some reason, so my husband and I spent a good part of Saturday shopping for a new laptop for me.

I purchased a Hewlett-Packard Pavilion Entertainment Notebook, dv6 series from Ultimate Electronics, and it has some very nice features for the money.  It also has a nice, sleek look to it, too.  See the You Tube video at the end.

I could not find my exact laptop online, but this is the same laptop before adding the Blu-ray drive.  Ultimate Electronics is a new store in our area, and I was pleased with the price I paid, only $619 (on sale before tax) with all of the features below.

  • AMD Turion II Dual Core Mobile Processor P540 (2.4 GHz, 2MB L2Cache)
  • 15.6″ Diagonal High Definition HP BrightView LED Display (1366 x 768)
  • 640GB (5400 RPM) Hard Drive
  • 4096MB DDR3 SDRAM (2 Dimm)
  • 802.11 b/g/n WLAN
  • Blu-ray ROM with LightScribe SuperMulti DVD+R/RW Double Layer
  • 6 Cell 55WHr Lithium-ion Battery
  • AMD M880G with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250 Graphics with 128MB Display Cache Memory
  • 5-in-1 Digital Media Reader
  • Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
  • HP TrueVision Webcam
  • HP MediaSmart
  • Fingerprint Reader

After looking at several stores both online and in our city, I could not find another 15.6″ laptop to compare in features and price with this one.  I could not buy a larger one because it would not fit in my trusty LowePro camera bag for travel.

The Media Smart Tools from HP seem fine so far, and I actually like the Netflix interface.   I will stick with iTunes for most of my media needs, though.  The 16×9 aspect ratio is going to take a little getting used to when editing photos, but hopefully that won’t take long, especially since the touch pad now has a multi-touch feature.  The laptop seems to take a bit longer to boot up than my old Compaq, but it’s still not prohibitively long.  The only other slightly negative thing I have noticed so far is the touch pad, which can either work fine or become a bit laggy at times.  I need to look a bit further into that one.   The touch pad has some new features, and it is quite possible that its new owner needs a little training.  😉

(HP’s customer support page for this model dv6-3132nr can be found here.)

On the positive side, there are many things that I really like about the laptop, including the fingerprint reader.  I have already programmed it for my most frequent logins, and it is a great time-saving feature.  I will get spoiled rather quickly to that little feature alone.  Having 640GB of storage space in my primary computer is also going to be a great thing, since my photo and music libraries continue to grow every year.  The HD (LED) display is another welcome upgrade and will be great for photo editing and viewing, not to mention watching an occasional Blu-ray movie just for fun, either on the laptop or on a TV via the HDMI out.  (Yes, it’s back to Wal-Mart soon for yet another HDMI cable, but it’s worth it.) I chose the champagne color with an etched design on the lid and on either side of the touchpad, which is a really nice change from the plain brushed steel or black that I have had in the past.  It just looks classy.  Windows 7 is great.  And last but not least, the new webcam has clear pictures and sounds, as compared to my previous webcam.

Guess it’s time to get back to reinstalling programs and transferring files.  Seems I’m either doing this for myself or someone else at least twice a year now.  That’s ok.  I don’t mind a bit.  I’m always grateful for the little blessings that come my way, and I’m really grateful that I’m not working to recover from a crashed hard drive this time!

Below is a promotional You Tube video for the dv6 series.  I don’t have the touchscreen add-on, but I’m sure that would be nice to have at times, too.  I’m fine to just keep my fingerprints on the keyboard and not that beautiful display.

D All Original Content — © fivefs.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved
Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

