Food

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”
— J. R. R. Tolkien

Oh my, where do I start on the topic of  “Food?”   Well, perhaps a bit of honesty will suffice.

My mother set the bar very high in the cooking category. Her holiday meals are legendary in our family, and we are all quite sad that at age 89, she no longer opts to spend hours and hours in the kitchen preparing her famous meals. Oh sure, she will come to one of our houses and cook up a batch of fudge or two, but she now opts to let us attempt to carry on the tradition. To date, we have not even come close. But, we do try.

Until the last few years, I can honestly say that cooking was often a chore for me. Most of my first two decades of marriage were consumed with holding down jobs in my profession, raising kids, running the “mama taxi” and doing housework. More often than not, I worked more than eight hours per day at my jobs, especially my first job right out of college. My husband frequently traveled during the week on business and was unavailable to help. By the time I picked up kids from daycare, I was tired and hungry, kids were tired and hungry, and all I wanted to do was get us something to eat and enjoy some family time before hitting the evening “to do” list.

Needless to say, cooking was not on my radar as often as I would have liked, except for preparing some traditional holiday dishes for our family gatherings and some weekend meals at home.  I did, however, take advantage of my crock pot, and often used it at least once a week.  My husband sometimes volunteered to cook on a weekend, which was so nice for all of us.  Experimenting with new recipes was fun, especially ones that I had sampled from friends or fellow church members. (Oh my, covered dish meals at church… what a fond memory! How I miss them now.) I never disliked cooking. I just didn’t have much time to cook.

Fast forward to the beginning of my “empty nest” period that began a few years ago. Combine that with my mother selling her house and moving to a place that will do all of her cooking for her, and the result was a desire in me to cook more and try to fill the void of my mother’s home cooking. I appreciate great food in restaurants, but there is just something about the satisfaction and flavor of a good home cooked meal that just warms the heart.

One of my first cooking tasks was to gather and preserve our most treasured family recipes. I will talk more about that project later because it is one of the most satisfying things I have ever worked on. I will even share a picture or two of the finished product. All I can say is that I am so glad that I completed the recipe collection while my mother was still around to help clarify some of her handwritten recipes. If you are considering such a project, take that bit of advice to heart and don’t delay another minute.  Treasured family recipes should never be lost.

Food posts here will not be solely devoted to home cooking. We have dined at some wonderful restaurants, and many have been quite affordable. Others have been more memorable events that I will always treasure… in some fabulous places. Who could overlook those special times in any decent food discussion?

Shredded chicken tostadas at La Margarita, our favorite San Antonio restaurant

Stayed tuned and bring your appetite. More to come… especially calories.

Tastefully,

D All Original Content — © fivefs.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved
Author: DK

Blogger at My Five Fs (Faith - Family - Food - Fotos - Fun) and Animal Wonder. Empty-nester that now shares life with my hubby and our two standard poodles. Enjoys camping in our RV, taking and editing photos, trying new low-carb recipes, baking pretty decorated cookies for special occasions, walking daily, spending time with family and friends when we can, playing with the dogs, and is grateful to God for every single day of this blessed life and for the opportunity to share and connect with some great people here.

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

