All My Bags Are Packed…

Finally, today is the day at long last!  Our big trip is about to commence, and I’m so ready!  We’ve never been on a trip quite like this one, and I think we are both pretty well rested for the week to come.

This is a celebration trip for us, as we will primarily celebrate our 35th anniversary, along with Mother’s Day, Father’s Day and my birthday, which is later this week.  I cannot think of a better way to celebrate than how this trip has now (hopefully) turned out to be, too.

Yesterday, Sunday, we had to completely change our outgoing airline reservations to avoid a huge winter storm in Denver that was expected to dump almost a foot of snow there.  The reservation agent strongly advised us to change our flights to avoid Denver while we could still do so, and we heeded her advice, especially since our flight to Denver was to be on a smaller commuter jet.  I said it earlier, and I will still say that I think a little bit of divine intervention has been involved here, as we got the last two flights out of our airport this afternoon to Houston.  We will overnight there, then catch our flight to Hawaii tomorrow morning.

The big bonus in this for us is that I will finally be able to see one of my very best friends in the world and her family for dinner tonight.  She was thrilled when I told her about the change that would now route us through Houston, and she will pick us up at the airport when we arrive.  We have been long-time friends, even dating back to when none of us had kids, and this has added yet another joy for me in this trip!

For someone who seldom gets to see her kids and this special friend, I will get to see both of my kids and this friend in the very same week to celebrate these special days.  We had a wonderful Mother’s Day dinner last night at our house with my hubby, my mom and our son.  It was a casual time, and we just let a local restaurant “cater” our tasty BBQ dinner for us.  We visited for three hours, played with the dogs, opened gifts and had quite a few laughs.  A perfect evening as far as I’m concerned.

Talk about blessed!  Yes, I am.

And as of this morning, I am only 4 ounces shy of losing… 30 pounds!  Yet another reason to celebrate for me, too.

Houston, Kauai, San Francisco and Big Sur… here we come!  ;-)

D
5 Comments

Filed under Family/Friends, Fun, My Family, My Life, Travel

5 responses to “All My Bags Are Packed…

  1. Enjoy your wonderful trip and your Happy Birthday too!!

    • Thanks for the birthday wish! We had a truly wonderful vacation and celebration… after a bit of a rocky start the first day when I had a little stomach bug. Thankfully, it passed quickly! ;-)

  2. Enjoy your trip, enjoy your special catch-up with your friend, enjoy your husband, and enjoy the travel. We’ll catch you up when you get home. :-)

So, what would you like to share today? Thanks!

